Paintbox

I have been using quite a bit of Paintbox yarn lately and the labels do not have the color name listed. It only has a number. Well, I finally decided this was not enough. LOL So I went to Paintbox yarns and got the chart of the colors, then I went to Lovecrafts and got the color names that corresponded to the colors. A few of them were no longer listed but the numbers were in order so I just filled them in. So about a half dozen or so are probably discontinued – like the neon colors, for example. Anyway, in case you are like me and like to know the color names, here is the chart I filled in. The Evergreen, Mandarin Orange, Seville Orange, Tomato Red and Bright Peach are a few I remember as not being on the Lovecraft list. Of course, there are also new colors that are not on this chart that are available so it’s not really a complete listing. It doesn’t matter what I’m looking for – you can bet it will be out of stock. LOL


I mentioned that I am working on afghans for folks in my local area who are having a rough time between Ida damage and covid stress. Here is one in progress.

You may know the verse “For by grace you have been saved …” Ephesians 2:8. The yarn is Paintbox. The white is champagne white #202. [edit: The tan is probably vanilla cream#207. I originally wrote down that it was light caramel #208 but when I bought some it didn’t match.] I still have “been” and the Bible verse reference to do. The whites took one full skein but didn’t go over. The tan, however, took a wee bit more than a skein. It depends on how many “holes” you have I think. Since I have only the one other skein of light caramel I ordered more just in case and fingers crossed it will match. I’m going to use soft fudge for “been” and the light caramel for Eph 2:8 and the border. I have two skeins of that.

Hopefully, it will all come together and be a comfort to the recipient. Honestly, there are so many who have lost so much, I could spend all my time doing something for them.

The letters are from my own version of the alphabet – 5 across and 9 down. I make them using a table in Microsoft Word. I would like to find a program that would allow me a greater width so I could make larger blankets (and longer verses) but I have to make do with what I have. I use landscape and 14″ paper. Of course, all the strips have to be the same size as well. It does take a while to get it all together but well worth the trouble.

I put 2 rows of dc before and after the words. I used an H hook which I bought from Polymer Clay Shed. I love that shop. Carola is lovely to work with.

I know the picture is a mess but it’s a wip so it’s supposed to be messy. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.


I did do a little more work on the scarves in progress as I can’t count while watching TV with my hubby in the evenings. They will go to Sandy at the Bridge and Beyond. Sandy has made the difficult decision to discontinue this effort. You can read about it in her blog post. I do need to jump on this and finish the scarves so they can arrive before Dec. 31.

That’s all for now. I hope you all are safe and healthy.

Happy Crocheting!

Sandie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.