Eagle afghan

Before I get to the afghan, I happened across this neat video by Kristin Omdahl demonstrating how different stitches are different heights. This can make a real difference in the size of a project and also how close-knit or more open weave it is. If you’re working rows of single crochet, you’ll have a very close-knit result as it is a very short stitch. On the other hand, if you’re making rows of triple crochet you’re going to have a more loosely woven piece generally as it is a taller stitch. She doesn’t go into all that. She just shows how tall each basic stitch is, including the extended stitches.

Also, I added two more patterns to Diana’s page. I did not remake these two items as I’ve still got a few projects I need to finish but I will do that in due time. I just wanted to get them up on the page. The two patterns are Triple Stitch Square and Preemie Thumbless Mitts. One of the projects I want to finish is Diana’s Front Post Triple Crochet Shawl that I started before my surgery. I love the pattern and it will make a beautiful shawl – though I may continue it and make it an afghan. I’ll see how it goes when I can get back to it. Right now, I still have the Mayhem & Majesty CAL Lovely Lines to finish.


The afghan for my Godson is finished. Finished size is about 42″ x 57″.

He told me his favorite color is blue and I happen to have that Sailor Blue which is a gorgeous shade of blue. I used that for his name. We also talked about how some of us have favorite animals. I like dolphins. My daughter has always liked tigers but she and my youngest grandson also like owls. Come to think of it, I like owls too. I guess owls are popular. heh My other grandson likes foxes and my son-in-law likes wolves.

My son likes eagles and my Godson said he also likes eagles so I decided to see if I could find an eagle to be part of his afghan. I found one at this shop by Jinhua at Etsy. After I purchased this pattern, the shop owner apparently added me to her email list and I now get notices of sales in her shop and highlighted patterns. I don’t mind that but if you do, and you are interested in one of her patterns, do let her know your preference about emails.

I only wanted the Eagle part of the pattern so I decided to use the included chart and work as I do all my filet patterns. I extended the sides by 3 squares so it would fit with the name panels. That worked out perfectly.

The yarn used is I Love This Yarn worsted weight in color #10/White, lot #105061. I’m not sure how much yarn I used. I am totally guessing three skeins for the whole afghan. Although I do generally love the I Love This Yarn Hobby Lobby brand, I did have quite a few bad spots/knots in this particular skein of white yarn that I had to cut out. I don’t usually have this problem with ILTY although you know with any skein there will be a few problem spots.

I Love This Yarn skeins are 7oz/199g, 355yds/325m. It is 100% acrylic made in Turkey.

I used my red Furls Odyseey H/5.0mm hook to match the other panels.

For the blue name panels, I used Paintbox Simply Aran in color #239 Sailor Blue, lot #635899. This blue is my all-time favorite shade of blue. It is just gorgeous. It is a 100% acrylic, worsted weight yarn that is also made in Turkey. Skeins are 3.5oz/100g, 201yd/184m. I used a few yards more than one skein per panel then a bit more on one round of the border. That said, you would probably need four skeins if you were making this. Of course, unless you know someone with his name it wouldn’t be exactly the same. LOL The amount of yarn used varies depending on how many “holes” you have in the words.

For this afghan, I used my newly created large filet alphabet patterns.

For the border, I used the same yarns as above plus #213 Rose Red, lot #635271. I worked rounds of double crochet in red, white, blue, white, red and ended with a round of single crochet in red. I think the red added something to it.

Note that the stitches “relaxed” quite a bit after washing so they had more drape and were not as bendy curly – that’s an official term hahaha. I was very glad I washed it.

Today I’ll be working on the next panel for the Lovely Lines CAL at Mayhem & Majesty. Although I’m using #3 weight yarn, it’s pretty wide. I never did get around to doing the Facebook CAL for the beluga whale. I have the pattern so I’ll probably do it later.

That’s all for today.

Happy Crocheting!

Sandie

4 thoughts on “Eagle afghan

  1. LOVE the Eagle! What a nice gift that will be. Will hope over to Diane’s page and check out your progress. Such a nice tribute to her. So glad you’re doing that.

    Like

  2. Kritin’s video was tottally awesome. I loved seeing the different stitches in comparison to each other.. I have never seen this or all of these stitches.. Great Video. thank you for sharing.. Totally needed.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.