Kitty couch

The kitty couch is finished. The pattern is this one at Annie’s. We opted not to add the ruffle. If you decide to make this, don’t be like me – do a gauge swatch. If you cut the foam as it instructs and you don’t do the swatch your pieces will either be too large or too small (mine were larger). So be good and do the swatch. 🙂

Here are the pieces labeled and ready to be assembled, minus one piece that got left behind. 🙂

Here is the afghan for the back of the couch. As noted in a previous post, for the afghan I used the small skeins I got from Yarnspirations some time ago. They are bigger than the Lion Brand mini-skeins but not as big as a full skein. I weighed a few of them and most were .7 oz. One was .8oz. There was no information on the label except the name Yarnspirations. The little afghan is about 14 1/2″.

For the squares, I used a closed granny square for three rounds, then finished with a single crochet round. They were joined with a whipstitch and I added a border of [(sc, ch 2, sc) in same stitch, sk1].

The colors are red, blue, yellow, green, and gold.

Here is the finished couch with the little afghan.

The couch itself is about 21″ across the front, 11 1/2″ high and 14″ from front to back.

I crocheted all the pieces in griddle stitch – (dc in one stitch, sc in next stitch across). My daughter assembled them even with my too-large pieces! She is amazing.

It took two bags of foam from Walmart and five skeins of Hobby Lobby Graymist (lot #106130) for the couch and, of course, a yarn needle and scissors.

Would I do it again? Nope. LOL Once was quite enough. I did enjoy making the little blanket but you know blankets and scarves are my thing.

Happy crocheting!

Sandie

2 thoughts on “Kitty couch

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.