Lovely Lines update

Progress on the Lovely Lines. This is a CAL at Mayhem & Majesty but I purchased the pattern so I’m ahead of the CAL. The pattern uses the numerical filet technique which I love.

I’ve finished all the panels I am doing. I skipped the one with the words Lovely Lines (Panel 7) and I skipped Panel 8 as well and went straight to the last panel. At that point, the blanket was so large it was getting hard for me to lift and turn it. As it happened I sprained my wrist just as I finished the final panel (not because of the blanket!). I still had the border to do. The size before border was about 60″ x 66″ worked with a G Furls Odyssey hook. There are 229 stitches in each row and I worked 147 rows.

Colors in Knit Picks Brava Sport yarn:
Panel 1 – Marina (lot #1901)
Panel 2 – Dove Heather
Panel 3 – Red (lot 632372)
Panel 4 – Cobblestone Heather
Panel 5 – Celestial (lot #638092)
Panel 6. Dove Heather
Panel 7 – Panel 7 in the pattern is the words Lovely Lines. I skipped that one and the next one. My panel 7 is actually panel 9 in the pattern. Color: Dublin (lot #628450)
Border – Silver (lot #632372) (I know it’s the same lot # as red – what can I say? It’s what was on the label)

The Heathers appeared to be a bit thicker to me. The Marina and the Celestial appeared thin. That said, they all worked okay together.

It was very hard for me to get a picture that clearly showed all the patterns. I am short and even standing on a step stool I couldn’t get it so I tried to take pictures of a portion of each panel but my shadow got in the way so these aren’t very good either. My husband tried as he’s taller than me but with limited success. I would have asked him to hold it up for me as he did for my Doctor Who one but he now has a rotator cuff injury so I didn’t want him to injure himself more. Hopefully, you can get the idea of each pattern.

Here’s a photo of the afghan folded. I think you can see all 7 panels.

Here’s a photo we got with limited success even after I fiddled with it. 🙂 I’m no expert as you can see.

And here are the individual shots showing the designs.

The grey below the blue is actually the same grey as the grey in the picture below, above the red. The lighting changed its color. LOL The grey with the red is a partial panel.

My favorite – read “easiest” – panel was Panel 5 (blue) with my Panel 7 (green) (pattern panel 9) coming in second. Panel 6 was my least favorite. It was hard to keep track of where I was. That is on me and is not the fault of the pattern.

This was a fun blanket to do. Each panel was interesting and different so you didn’t get bored with it even though it was a lot of stitches. One person in the group worked it in one color and I loved it. Another person used pastel shades and I also loved that one. If it was smaller, I’d make another one but I’ve already got a few blankets in my queue waiting. If I live long enough maybe I’ll come back around to this one. It’s really a nice filet pattern and all the counting’s been done for you!

Next up is a unicorn blanket for a sweet teenager who is undergoing treatment for cancer.

Happy Crocheting!

Sandie

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.